4.7
78 Reviews
5
82% (64)
4
13% (10)
3
3% (2)
2
1% (1)
1
1% (1)
95% Recommend this product (74 of 78 responses)
By Lash
Eatonville Washington
Best Welding Helmet
October 1, 2018
Great product worth every penny...helped my old tired eyes see the weld puddle again...awesome, and best price... as well as fast shipping...thank you...only con is could cover the ears a little more...old guys have big ears
ProsLight weight....great vision....adjustments are great and work very well
Conssome pieces are a little flimsy... could cover ears better
By Robby
Utah
Clear
September 14, 2018
Very nice and clear. And no batteries.
By John
Sevierville, TN
Love This Helmet!!!
July 11, 2018
I am a new welder and was having trouble seeing out of my $150 helmet. You can't improve if you can't see!! The first time I welded with my Jackson I couldn't believe how much better my welds were. I can see!! I love the blue color. Cyberwelds prices are the best!!!
By brian
sandy oregon
great hood
May 10, 2018
not a pro welder, just garage projects but this is a great hood. the big window is amazing. i find myself leaving the helmet down between welds, much better view. while welding i can see much better as well. light, and flexible hood with great suspension is comfortable for several hours of wear.
By Stan
TX
Was skeptical to spend this much....but you ought to see my beads now!!!!
April 27, 2018
Yes, I am a homeowner so I don't weld for a living but this is one nice helmet. It's comfortable and I can see so well.
By Cody
Lafayette, Indiana
AMAZING Optical quality!!!
February 15, 2018
I was in the supply room at work today just to get some new markers, paper, some other new tools I been needing and i found this little GEM of a welding hood! I've been using a Miller Elite series hood for the last 6 months and I couldnt see my welds!!! I tried this hood that I found with dust on it and I was completely amazed at how clear the veiw of my welds were with this thing! Finally...my welds look beautiful again cause I can actually see what the hell I'm doing again!!! And to think this thing was just collecting dust in the supply closet!!! Not only is the optical quality outstanding but the headgear is also amazing!!! And very light weight!!! This is by far the best welding hood I've ever used!!! This thing is worth every asking dollar of the price!!! Oh yeah one more thing....the glass in this hood has built-in rechargeable batteries!!! No more battery changes for this guy!!! I'm still in amazement over this hood!
ProsCrystal clear viewing, head-gear, built-in rechargeable batteries
ConsViewing area size isnt large like a NEX-GEN
By Jack F.
WA
Great helmet
January 24, 2018
Great helmet over all, i really like the headgear. I don't really like the smaller viewing area, but mostly don't like that the top of the helmet doesn't go back far enough to stop the glare from overhead lighting, sun, etc.
ProsEase of changing consumables
ConsTop doesn't go far enough to cut out glare Smaller viewing area...not the smallest but not as big as most others
By Bad B.
CT
Excellent vision
November 20, 2017
Works great, used for arc, mig and tig, good field of vision, and field of view. Headgear could be improved seems to loosen on its own and needs to be re- adjusted every now and then.
ProsVision, field of view
Cons Headgear
By Kcpat10
Pell City, Al
Critical flaw
October 24, 2017
I have had this hood for a little over a month now. I wanted to get a feel for it before writing my review. Glad I did. I do a lot of welding in jigs and fixtures. In other words I don't always have a totally clear field of vision to my weld. The Next-gen has 4 arc sensors. This hood only has 2 and I find myself getting flashed countless times a night because the sensors aren't picking up the arc flash. And yes, I have the sensitivity set at the most sensitive. Doesn't help. Bottom line: NOT a satisfied customer. I feel like a wasted $300 because I will replace this hood as soon as I can. I did my research and this was the #1 rated hood on several sites for the last 2 years. Must not have been rated by full time welders is all I can come up with. I will be replacing it with a non Jackson hood as soon as I can.
ProsCrystal clear weld view.
ConsOnly 2 arc sensors which will blind you if your viewing field is clear...if you're welding around parts.
By PAUL
west valley, UT
Best hood i've ever owned
October 24, 2017
I waited to write this review until I had used this hood long enough to be fair in my opinion. All I can say is WOW!!! I can see my welds again I was having a hard time seeing my puddle as my eyes have aged, but with this hood, I was absolutely amazed. Great product you will not be disappointed it was worth every cent.
By Michael
San Diego, California
Great upgrade
October 21, 2017
Never realized how good and comfortable a welding helmet could be. I feel my welding skills have improved since I can actually see the welds clearly now.
By William D.
Mississippi
I was blind, but now I see
October 5, 2017
I can see better while welding, as many other reviews have stated, but I am very pleased that the lens is lighter in the off position (before darkening). For me, it is much more usable in a low light environment.
By John
Southbridge, MA
Jackson Balder BH3 Welding Helmet
September 27, 2017
This is the best welding helmet I have used to date. It has a large viewing area and awesome optic quality.
ProsLightweight and optic quality
ConsHeadgear is good but not great
By D L.
Concord NC
Nice helmet, not so nice headgear
September 22, 2017
The clarity is awesome.
ProsClarity
ConsThe headgear is junk. The top strap does not snap together, the two pegs slide in and out of the holes so it will not stay where you set it. And the tension knobs on the side also will not stay where you set them, constantly having to tighten them. Don't like the fact that a new $300 helmet is going to have to get some tape and/or zip ties added to it.
By Chris
Colorado
Welding in HD
September 11, 2017
I never realized how poor my old equipment was until I bought this amazing helmet. It is so clear and crisp compared to my 5 year old auto darkening insert, it's like welding in HD. Helmet is light and so far pretty scratch resistant. I can not say the same about the inside lens, but I still give 5 stars because that was my fault.
ProsBeautiful clarity and easy adjustment. Light helmet and large viewing area.
ConsScreens are soft and can be scratched easily.
By Chad
North Dakota
Best helmet I've owned in 20 years of professional welding
September 4, 2017
As my title says, this is the best helmet I've owned in 20 years of professional welding. I've used Jackson helmets in the past, as well as other brands (Miller, Lincoln, etc.), and I always come back to Jackson, with this model in particular being the best of the bunch. I'm turning 40 this year, after 20 years of welding for a living, the nature of this profession has taken it's toll on my eyes, and over the last 2 years, it's been a little harder to see what's going on under the hood. This helmet with the Balder technology has allowed me to see again! The clarity and line of sight while welding is unbelievable with this helmet. I can not only see what it is I'm welding, but also my surroundings. I'll never stray from Jackson helmets again so long as I am in this profession. I'm sold on Balder technology!
By Juan
Iowa
A
July 12, 2017
A very nice welder helmet. But need color one like black welder helmet and etc...get the picture but overall great helmet. Plus you can see what your're welding.
ProsSee clearer
ConsNone
By Paul
SLC, Utah
Great product
May 31, 2017
The clarity is the best of any hood I've ever used. Love the hood, money well spent.
By Robert
Michigan
Welding helmet
May 28, 2017
This is a very nice welding helmet. Great price and great place to buy from. I used it now for three weeks with no problems.
ProsLight weight, large view area, quick to darken. No batteries needed.
ConsNone so far.
By Roger
Southern California
Quality product
May 20, 2017
Awesome quality, now I weld like a pro. Best price at Cyberweld.
ProsI can weld better now.
ConsNone
By Andy
upstate new york
welding helmet
March 15, 2017
It's the best auto helmet I've owned. From the manufacturer the head band was bent/distorted. But Cyberweld instantly sent me out a new head gear, no hassle and no cost to me..excellent service.
ProsThe viewing area is phenomenal. Not only is it large but it's the brightest sight. Helmet is light weight and comfortable.
ConsOnly comes in 1 color
By Sean
OAKLAND , California
So far great helmet
March 10, 2017
Just one concern the dials on the electronics Seem to be very cheap. I guess time will tell
ConsJust one concern the dials on the electronics Seem to be very cheap. I guess time will tell
By Joe C.
Kissimmee, florida
Jackson Balder BH3
January 17, 2017
This hood has the best field of view for the money I could find. With some changes to the setting it still works great even in direct sunlight with out changing to weld mode! Love the color with the balder technologies it has a light blue tint instead of green. Would buy this again if something happens to this one. Thanks Cyberweld
By Tom
Juneau Alaska
Best hood I've ever used
January 14, 2017
Absolutely terrific clarity although the pictures show a more blue screen that I really don't notice it still seems very green
By Carl S.
Ca
Good transaction
November 6, 2016
Great hood at a good price, very happy with the whole transaction
By Mark S.
Montana
Hood is a joke. Lens is not.
October 16, 2016
Received from Cyberweld. The hood is flimsy cheap plastic. Its misshaped and doesn't keep its form. The lens is awesome. Great clarity and let's you see what you're welding. I weld every day; (aluminum) a few hours a day so this hood can get a touch heavy. I had to tape the top head band to keep it in the notches. I like the superior view from the lens. The two sensors seem to pick up the flash real quick.
ProsSolar power. No batteries. No on or off, just go and weld. The lens it's blue color makes it easier to see what you're welding.
ConsThe hood. It needs to be stiffer to hold its shape. The color black and yellow .
By karen
Florida
"Awesome"
September 28, 2016
I bought this for my son for his welding program because the equipment provided was inadequate to protect his eyes,and did not allow great vision. After his first time with this helmet ,he came home and said "mom this helmet is awesome"
ProsVision clarity and safety & lightweight
ConsCost but expense is not an issue where protection of vision is of concern.
By Morgan
Southern California
As advertised, worth every penny
September 1, 2016
I have about five hours welding with this, mostly mig , works great, good optics and comfortable and it's got a good look to it... The only down side is that it has two arc sensors so if you are crawling in complicated pipe racks it could present a problem, the pro side is that it's not darkening because of other welding or work going on around you.
ProsI ordered on a Sunday, Cyberweld shipped on Monday and I got it in perfect condition on Wednesday...
By Jessica P.
Joliet il
Great product
May 14, 2016
Awesome helmet my boyfriend loved it
By Justin
S.S.F.
VERY CLEAR
March 20, 2016
Clarity is the best I've seen from an auto helmet. Good head gear, not too heavy with a great view area.
ProsGreat clarity. Huge viewing area. Great head gear. Lightweight with good neck protection
ConsPricey cover plates
By Tony B.
Troutville VA
The best welding hood.
March 19, 2016
I have had always been a speed glass 3M user. This by far has the best clarity.
ConsHeadgear has to be constantly tightened
By Skip
Bridge Oregon
Awesome
March 10, 2016
Works great really clear view
By Dennis
Carlsbad California
Happy purchase
March 4, 2016
This lens is more clear than my old helmet and easier to see where the weld is going.
By Drew
Minnesota
Good quality
November 13, 2015
Very nice helmet. It is clearer and has better color then the spedglas and miller
ProsLight, sturdy, high quality
ConsNo grind mode, 2 sensors is not enough if your in tight spaces they can get blocked
By Fabian
Brooklyn
Disappointed
October 26, 2015
This mask fell short of my expectations. For the money you would think it'd bring extra lenses or a bag to carry it, nope it doesn't. The visor is ok it's not amazing either. I have a 3m speedglas 9100xx and I prefer it over the Jackson. I'm looking forward to getting the new speedglas though ;)
ProsBig view Clear view
ConsHeavy For the money you can get a better mask Lacks accessories other brands give you at that price point
By Matt
Minnessota
Only two sensors!?
October 16, 2015
Why would they only have two sensors? I'm a pipe welder and I got this because it was supposed to be the latest and greatest. I used this in the field in the pipe racks of a power plant and an oil refinery. This thing arc flashes me all the time. It's great for bench welds but in tight spaces and position welds it is not reliable.
ProsGreat clarity
ConsOnly two sensors, arc flashes often.
By Jurgen
San francisco bay area, ca
Very good
September 8, 2015
Clear view and easy adjustments
By Jason D.
Detroit, MI
I'm glad I upgraded from old school.
September 3, 2015
Love this lid. It does come w/ a really nice bag... There are only 2 arc sensors, so 99% of the time it's great. Sweet head gear. Super light. Really clear large view. My welds are even coming out better. Everything is adjustable. Shade, delay, sens... No extra clear lens though. But they're way cheaper than Millers. Easy to change lens. Grind mode would be nice, but for the price, it's. Cadillac.
ProsLight, large view, crystal clear. Fine tunable. Nice bag. Fast shipping
ConsNo grind mode. If you weld even 35% at work. Buy it now, or kick yourself years later when You do finally buy one and reward yourself for a hard days work.
By Shant
San Jose, California
This helmet is amazing!!
August 13, 2015
I have been using a Miller Digital Elite helmet for the last 6-7 years and I have been very happy with it. I even passed all the certification tests that i took with that helmet so it even had some sentimental value. Recently the headgear broke, I decided to try the Jackson Balder because I have heard nothing but good things. Now although it doesn't have as many bells and whistles as the Digital Elite (x-mode, grind mode, etc.) the real beauty of this helmet is the fact that when you strike an arc, you can see EVERYTHING!! And I do mean everything!! In addition to that, the Balder is light, sleek, and the headgear is very comfortable. I know some people might say that there is little difference between the helmets but IMO, this is the best helmet I have ever used.
Pros- Amazing visual clarity!!! - Lightweight - Comfortable headgear
Cons- Lack of features (but who cares)
By Ryan W.
Niagara Falls, New York
Great Helmet. Amazing Price!!
August 9, 2015
I can not believe that this helmet is now only 230$ I bought mine a few years ago and paid a whopping 400$. Definitely a for sure purchase if you are a TIG Welder
ProsHeadgear is really nice Clarity is unbeatable Warranty blows competition out of the water
ConsNo Grind Mode or off button
By Mike P.
Birmingham, AL
Nice Helmet..missing accessories
August 5, 2015
Very clear helmet and it fits well. It is also light so you can wear it for long periods of time without fatigue. I was disappointed that there wasn't a bag included or extra covers included. My older helmet was a Miller elite. It did not have the same clarity as the Jackson but it came standard with some basic accessories.
ProsClear Light weight Comfortable
ConsNo bag for protection No extra covers for front or rear
By John J.
NW PA
Awesome Hood!
January 18, 2015
My first higher end hood. Very Happy with it. Light and comfortable. Easy to set up head gear. The blue color of the lense is very easy on the eyes and the clarity is very good. Would buy again no doubt.
ProsGreat veiw, light weight, comfortable.
ConsNone so far.
By Danny D.
Elk city ok.
Balder auto hood
January 15, 2015
Very comfortably head gear, the really is a difference in this hood over others auto hoods I've used very easy color on your eyes all day long. Like being able to take front protector lens out so easily for cleaning .
By Matt
Lancaster , CA
Great hood fast shipping
January 14, 2015
Ordered it easy and came fast. Great experience.
By Rob
Maine
Excellent helmet
January 11, 2015
I weld full time for a living and when when my 12 plus year old Speedglas died I thought I would try something else and a bit less expensive. The Jackson is awesome, I am very happy with it. The clarity of view and the size of the viewing area are excellent. The fit and comfort are great as well, I would highly recommend this helmet, cyberweld got it to me in two days free shipping.
By Dung
United States
Best Investment
December 17, 2014
Very responsive and true to many reviewers. Best investment for a professional product.
ProsDoes not require battery Replaceable shield Easy adjustable headgear
By Gregory
Redlands, CA
Perfect
December 5, 2014
I am a welder in a large structural fabrication shop and I will say there is nothing better than this helmet. Its comfortable to wear for long periods of time and combined with its field of view and clarity I would rate it as one of the best helmets on the market. Also I have noticed it has a much larger surface area than a lot of other helmets, placing your face deeper into the helmet thus keeping you out of the plume of fumes. As for grinding there is no grind setting and for the price I feel it should be included. Although the price is high if you weld for a living everything a mentioned above is worth the cost exponentially
ProsClarity, comfort, fume protection, increased productivity.
ConsNo grind setting, doesn't walk the dog.
By Wes
Connecticut
very nice hood
November 26, 2014
Ive owned every top auto hood from each manufacturer.. this is probably the best one. The miller was nice too except the optics are very green which doesn't appeal to me. This one is just as light, has better color optic, and headgear is equally nice. This hood could be improved so my quest for the perfect auto hood continues. My only real gripe is the size of the actual helmet.. its big. Its too tall on top. If they could streamline the shell a bit more.. Id really be happy. Other than that its a great hood for bench welding. For me.. it doesn't matter if theres two sensors or four sensors.. in the field they will flash you. So I leave this one on the bench and bring standard pipe shield out in the field.
Proscomfortable, light, nice large viewing area, good headgear
Consshell is too big for tight spaces
By Edward
Springfield, Virginia
Awesome helmet... Awesome price!
November 21, 2014
I couldn't be happier with this purchase. Fit, viewing area, and safety features are much better than my other (Radnor) helmet. And Jackson is Made in America. It looks good, feels good, and performs flawlessly; not to mention the savings! CyberWeld beats the tar out of Amazon, Ebay, and all other online vendors. Outstanding!
By Derek
Northern California
top notch dude!...
November 20, 2014
When this hood drops, the b/s does stop! Unmatched clarity, right size viewing area, comfortable on the melon even after quite a bit of continuous use. Bitchen product and great quality. Stop reading reviews after this, just buy it and You Will SEE what I'm talking about.No regrets bro.
ProsClarity, Comfort, Quality. Less than Miller Digital Elite?
ConsZip, Zilch, Nada...
By Rick
Pittsburgh, Pa
Seeing is believing
June 6, 2014
This helmet is worth every dime. I can see the weld puddle better than with any other helmet. Comfortable and durable.
By Josh
Mountain Lake, Minnesota
Very nice
March 23, 2014
Been using this helmet for about 2 weeks now. It's a huge difference from my old helmet. I thought the shade would be more blue but it's like a blue green. The sensitivity is super high on it too. I set it all the way down and the helmet still darkens when forklifts drive by. My old helmet was a 3m speedglass 9100 and the balder bh3 blows it away. The miller lpr-100 half mask respirator fits nicely underneath too. The price of the helmet is spendy but well worth it. I got my work to pay for the lenses too. The only downside is I still reach for an on button when there isn't one. Forgot to mention the huge size of the screen, it's so clear it's like welding in HD. 10/10
ProsNo on button Blue/green tint is easy on the eyes Lightweight Room for miller lpr-100 half mask respirator
ConsPrice Cost of lenses if you have to pay for them. Front ones are 1.80 a piece.
By Luke
Spring Hill, Kansas
BH3 WH70
February 1, 2014
This hood Is insanely light and incredibly duraable. it also has a tinge of blue to it when it darkens.... real easy onn the eyes. my only complaint which minor is it looks like a penguin., but still definitly deserves 5 stars
Proslightweight, hd like lense clarity, the head gear is super comfertable
Consnone
By Scott C.
Kansas City
Thumbs up
January 15, 2014
The helmet has a new clear view while welding. the helmet is also lightweight and very durable.
By John
Ontario, Canada
Absolutely Amazing!!!
January 9, 2014
I work in a refinery as a union pipe welder. I weld X-ray on a daily basis. This hood is the clearest view out of any hood I have owned. Works like a charm.
ProsClarity of weld puddle. Best caps I have ever laid down have been with this hood.
ConsNone so far
By ALAN
RENO,NV.
?
January 7, 2014
I CAN SEE CLEARLY WHAT I AM WELDING.
By jose
Houston, texas
welding helmet
December 24, 2013
Excellent
By Dan
rockford,illinois
Best welding helmet on the market
December 19, 2013
I absolutely love this helmet, the view is so much clearer and I can see further ahead of what I am doing.
Proslightweight, balder technology gives a clearer view with greater sight distance.
Consonly has 2 sensors so if head is in wrong position can have arc flash, would like to see snaps made in back of helmet for flap. I get into some awkward positions so I have to tape a flap to back of hood to stop sparks and help stop glare. But main concern would first making hood with 4 sensors.
By Jonah
Roscoe,IL
Great Welding Helmet
December 12, 2013
This welding helmet is the clearest I've ever used. I'm in a Union and I've had two other members purchase this hood is well. If you're in the market for new welding hood I would definitely recommend this to anyone.
ProsCrystal clear, reasonably priced, very lightweight and comfortable, large viewing area
ConsHaven't found any yet
By TCBob
Arlington, Virginia
Pricey...but great helmet
December 12, 2013
The blue color of the sensor view glass definitely make it easier to see the puddle and material. Headgear is easily adjusted and comfortable. The Cyberweld price is the best I found and does make it a little easier to justify the purchase. All-in-all a really good helmet -- but pricey.
ProsProvides great field of view and visibility of weld area.
ConsNone obvious yet.
By Nate
washington
great hood
December 9, 2013
The picture of this hoods clarity doesn't do it justice. I don't think there's a hood with optics this good. Or even close. Very light weight and rebate saved me $100. Only thing that would be nice is a grind mode but easy to live without.
ProsEverything
By John H.
Chicago, Illinois
Jackson bh3
December 6, 2013
I like the head gear it fits well. It is very lightweight compared to other hoods. The new technology is a plus and the lens size is large enough to do the job. Over all it beats out Miller's 9400i hands down in all categories.
ProsLight weight so it doesn't weigh a ton after a full shift of welding. Comfortable for extended use. Perfect for the seasoned welding professional as well as the novice.
ConsI wish it had 4 sensors and a changeable battery. I don't like that you must keep it in the dark when not in use. Not sure how it performs outside the shop environment like on the jobsite.
By j
spanaway, WA
jackson
November 20, 2013
the best auto darkening hood I've had seen in 14 years of welding. very close to looking thru a glass gold lens
By jason
corvallis oregon
greatest thing since sliced bread
November 17, 2013
What an amazing difference. my previous helmet was nothing great so I thought I would keep it for working out in the field but after using the balder I don't think I'll ever go back to it. the clarity outside of the puddle is awesome. would highly recommend.
Proseverything
Consno grind or torch mode but I've been able to grind w/o shade turning on unless you stick your head into the sparks so its really not that big a deal. little pricey but with rebate and a 5 year warranty its worth it!!
By Nick
Chippewa Falls,Wisconsin
Jackson Balder BH3
October 24, 2013
I very much enjoy using this helmet. The only way that I can really describe it is by saying that it is like welding in HD because it is so clear.
By fitter
rockford il
great hood
October 20, 2013
love this hood. i have tried many hoods over the years and this is the best so far. im a pipefitter and so far the reaction of the other fitters ive let try it is a big wow from everyone
Consnone so far
By Jeff
San Diego, CA
Great helmet
October 18, 2013
Replaced an older Jackson EQC, mostly for GTAW. The improvement is amazing, exceeded my expectations. Cyberweld service excellent.
ProsVisibility is outstanding, hood is very comfortable once the headgear is adjusted properly. No batteries or on/off switch to think about.
ConsNothing that matters. Grind mode or flip front lens would be good to have but not reasons to pass on this helmet.
By Jesse
Kernersville, NC
So far so good
September 25, 2013
Works as advertised. Crystal clear viewing area with a pretty blue colored lens. Used this helmet with MIG and TIG so far over the past month. Have not been flashed so far other then if both sensors are blocked which is only in very tight areas. Also turned the sensitivity all the way down and use the helmet to GRIND with every day, it only darkens when I get too close. I was going to return this helmet before I used it as I was on the fence about two other hood, digital elite & 9100xx. After using this helmet though I decided to keep it as I really do enjoy using it. I did try a friends elite and honestly preferred this helmet and he was amazed by the color and clear lens on the balder.
ProsBlue colored lens, very clear. Simple dials. Always on, no batteries to replace. Comfy headgear.
ConsPrice but rebate helped that a little. Only 2 sensors, has not been a problem for me though yet. No grind mode, works for me though with sensitivity all the way down, rarely darkens.
By PHILLIP
Placentia CA
Its not worth money!! Too expansive price!! Worth only $100
September 22, 2013
Its pretty nice if this helmat would been $100. I think its only worth $100. Lens are great but no grind mode and only two sensors with normal size screen like any other hundred $ helmat.
Prosblue bright lense, but just ok... seen better product for this price!!
ConsNo grind mode Expansive small screen for money Only two sensor repair parts are over price too
By Jim
Painesville Twp., OH
Jackson Balder BH3 Helmet
September 8, 2013
I love the helmet. Sensitivity can be adjusted to eliminate interference from tow motor strobe lights, yet not flash me. It also has a positive stop so it doesn't flop down while I'm fitting. It's a little on the heavy side and the chin area is a little soft, but it's still the best I've owned in 18 years.
By Luke T.
United States
Great!!!
September 3, 2013
Very Happy! By using the rebate that is available until December I got a great price. I feel like I got a top of the line helmet for a very decent price.
By joe
windsor, ontario
great hood!
August 13, 2013
helmet works as was advertised, clarity and quality is the best I've used so far. This helmet performs as a high end helmet should with out the gimmickry other hoods sell you on.
ProsViewing area, visual quality and lightweight. Everything a pro hood should be!
ConsConsidering the price I would have expected a carry bag or extra safety lenses, something. But none the less its a good product.
By PRWMETALMAN
Saratoga, North Carolina
Perfect View
July 21, 2013
I have owned a lot of different welding helmets through out my 27 years in the industry, and in my opinion, this is by far the greatest auto-darkening lens of all. The clear mode is crisp and natural while the blue tint in weld mode certainly enhances the weld puddle in tig and mig. I have yet to stick weld with it, but I'm sure it will not disappoint.
ProsNo batteries to replace, cleanest welding view ever, comfortable
Consnone
By Donald
schrimshaw007@yahoo.com
Excellent!
June 27, 2013
My son is using the helmet at CDA welding school. He is so VERY happy with it. Visible work area is really better than any top of the line helmet he has owned! The teacher and other students are so impressed, they are going to get one. It is also lighter in weight than his Miller. He has nothing but great things to say about the helmet
ProsGreat clarity and light weight.
ConsNone.
By adam j.
adamrules@roadrunner.com
JACKSON BALDER BH3 WINS FOR BEST HELMET
May 20, 2013
I have been mig welding everyday for 6 years now and i have been through 4 helmets in that time. HARBOR FREIGHT 4 out 10. Harbor freight very comfortable but it WILL RUIN YOUR EYES if you use this every day. MILLER ELITE rating 7 out of 10. 3M SPEEDGLAS 9000 5 OUT OF 10. The MILLER ELITE was good solid helmet with a pretty good lens but then it started flashing me after 1 year. Changed batteries twice and yes panasonic batteries. I had to send back lens. SPEEDGLAS 9000 FLIMSY HELMET terrible stop adjustments. if i look up the helmet rests on my nose. The lens was pretty good. I did not like the coverage the helmet gave me as well. So i finally tried the JACKSON BALDER BH3....9 out of 10. OVERALL great helmet. SOLAR LENS (HUGE PLUS) no more messing around batteries. The 3 dials for adjustments are great and simple. Really nice lens and has a center focus. The headgear is very sturdy and easy to adjust. The only downside to the headgear is every time i took the helmet off it would tear out my hair. If you use this helmet you MUST wear a DOO RAG.
ProsSOLAR LENS! REALLY NICE LENS WITH A GOOD BIG VIEWING AREA. GREAT HELMET! GOOD HEADGEAR. GOOD STOP.
ConsDid not like how the headgear tears out my hair every time i take it off. Must wear a doo rag.
By Dave
San Mateo, CA
Jackson Balder BH3 Welding Helmet
May 9, 2013
I love this helmet!!!! There aren't any batteries to go dead right in the middle of welding something. I also love the color of the screen. it's a light bluish green. I can see the puddle better than the standard green shade of all other helmets. The adjustments work well. It has only two arc sensors, but so far, that hasn't been a problem. It's a little pricey, but worth every penny! I highly recommend this helmet for anyone!
ConsNone
By Kevin K.
Butler, Pennsylvania
Balder BH3
March 13, 2013
After welding with it for a couple of days now, I have found that the color of filter is definitely one best I have seen. The puddle is crystal clear and you can't beat the Jackson headgear.
ProsGreat optics. Great looking helmet.
ConsThe price of the helmet is a little steep
By Ryan W.
Colorado
Simply the greatest hood I have ever owned.
January 8, 2013
I could not find the off/on switch? Why? There is none! This hood is solar powered, and needs no batteries. Simply the greates hood I have ever used. I restore hot rods, and build performance race cars for almost a decade now, and have probably lost days to fiddling with the on/off button on my hood, with heavy welding gloves, changing batteries, and certainly have had a couple neck cramps after long days under a hood. Not anymore, no on-off all the time, and the headgear and lightness of the hood has had me forgetting I was wearing it! I have used Jackson hoods for years, and this one kept impressing me. I have been weleding with it for over a week now both Mig and Tig, and the clarity is awesome. VERY easy to use and simple controls, makes it a great hobbyist to a daily job shop hood. It's simple, rugged, light comfortable, and the curved lens cover seems to shed sparks and slag more effectively, which should lead to longer lens cover life. I have been very impressed, and put my old Jackson Flame EQC on the wall for show. The hood is my daily use hood now, and I love it ! A great buy and a lifetime hood for the hobbyist, a rugged and simple time saving hood for the daily job shop welder or fabricator who needs to take the hood on and off all day long.
ProsSOLAR POWERED !!!! No on and off switch! No batteries needed! Lightness Comfortable headgear Curved lens cover, good for invert welding Easy to use controls

Page 1 of 1


back
close menu